Back to Classics

With some non fiction and Audiobooks

The Belton Estate by Anthony Trollope ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This is a story of a man’s nobility that shows in his actions rather than his family’s name, and another man’s nobility that evidently was by his family’s name only. I loved Will, poor Will. His love and passion are very romantic, something I didn’t expect in a Trollope book. But, Clara was annoyingly stubborn, and her stubbornness -which she mistakes for a strong will and independence- sometimes borders towards stupidity, by the end of the book, I even doubted the sincerity of her feelings.

Lost for love by Mary Elizabeth Braddon ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I should be prepared for Braddon’s style by now, but the myriad of feelings that I experience with every book I read by her is unstoppable. This book started well, the characters and the plot were interesting, then halfway through I was tempted to stop reading the book, but I persevered and through it all I never let myself hope for the best for any of the characters. Even if the ending was pleasant enough, the means that led to it was agonizing and unjust.

Dr. Wortle by Anthony Trollope ⭐️⭐️⭐️

not as good as other books by the author. Interesting story and a very slow pace, but I wanted to continue so I could find out how it will end.

A Weaver of Dreams by Myrtle Reed ⭐️⭐️

The author’s personal views on love and marriage are very obvious in her writing, the result is a gloomy story with unpleasant surprise and unsatisfying ending. This is the last book I will read by this author.

The Vintage ladies by Marilyn Messik⭐️⭐️⭐️

The pictures are wonderful, it gives us a glimpse of the past and how people used to pose for pictures. The commentary though, wasn’t funny and wasn’t what I wanted to read under each picture. I was hoping for a brief history of each Picture, instead I got a comic caption that I stopped reading after the first few pictures.

Rhett’s Make Believe Marriage by Liz Isaacson ⭐️⭐️

I liked the western atmosphere, I liked the plot and the development of the story, the characters are okay and Rhett’s character was the best. But, I wished the focus on the physical aspect of the relationship was non-existent, it was so distracting and ruined all of the above, it was like painting a beautiful picture then splashing a bucket of dirty water over it. there is so much innuendo and sexual tension between the main characters that I had to go check if this wasn’t a “religious romance” and the multiple POVs and stories was also distracting. I’m thoroughly discouraged from finishing this series.

Twin Souls by Barry Rachin ⭐️⭐️

Even with the unique writing style, and how intriguing the story was, the language and the ending made it hard to like this short story.

Trip’s Trivial Tie by Liz Isaacson ⭐️⭐️

The same plot like the first book, with different characters and less depth.

Liam’s Invented I-Do by Liz Isaacson ⭐️

Repetitive, predictable, and almost identical to the previous two books. … I give up on the rest of the series.

Where love begins by Donna Fletcher Crow ⭐️

Preaching book disguised as a romance story.

Hopeful Cowboy by Elana Johnson ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I loved the setting here, and the plot is very interesting. I liked how the characters are written and the dialogue was enjoyable. The romance is good and clean, it was really refreshing to read a kissing scene without any innuendo, but I wanted more emotional moments and more romantic gestures between Nate and Ginger. All in all, it was enjoyable to listen to the audiobook and I’m looking forward to listening to the rest of the books in this series.
.

Mistakenly married by Victorine E. Lieske ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Funny, witty, and intriguing. Nothing typical and no clichés, the dialogue is funny and the romance is really clean. The best part about this series is the various plots and ingenuity in each story.

Blissfully married by Victorine E. Lieske ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I liked the comedy part of this romantic comedy, but not so much the romance. I didn’t like adding poor Ted to the mix and most of the “grownups” behavior here was somewhat immature. I might’ve liked it more if it was a young adult plot.

Acting married by Victorine E. Lieske ⭐️⭐️

I wish I could give it more stars but the humor wasn’t as plenty as the previous books, and the romance was almost the typical “I love her/him and I won’t say it until the end of the book”…almost. I still enjoyed listening to the audiobook, and I’m glad I found an author that I can read her books without hesitation or fearing clichés and physical “romance”.

Overprotective cowboy by Elana Johnson ⭐️⭐️

I liked Ted but I couldn’t tolerate Emma, the plot was fast paced but it was too identical to the previous book. It was okay and I’m looking forward to listening to the next book.

Smoothies for weight loss by Jackson Nash ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Really good recipes, easy to make and with available ingredients.

Leave a comment